St. John’s Lutheran Church
|St. John’s was founded in Midland, Michigan in June of 1884 by German speaking immigrants. On April 28, 1907, the voters’ assembly passed a resolution to join The Lutheran Church – Missouri Synod and the congregation established a social ministry.
Click to view listing of all the Pastors who have served at St. John’s.
The church has used public buildings and has owned three buildings: a former Baptist church, a church on Gordon Street (currently the office for a social ministry organization called The Caregiving Network), and its present building at 505 East Carpenter Street. The current location is a unique design by Alden B. Dow, and was dedicated in 1954.
There is no exact date for when Christian education was started for the children, but there are references to the school in the first voters’ assembly minutes we have (1894). It was important that the children learn German, as it was the official language of the church at that time. The church services were in German, and the Bibles, hymnals, and catechisms they had were also in German. Click to read more on the school history.